Oklahoma Fishing License

Oklahoma

Popular for bass fishing, abundant lakes, and streams that dot the vast expanse, Oklahoma is the perfect destination for both the seasoned and beginner. Whether you are on a yacht, canoe or walking along a stream, you will surely reel in a fine catch since its waters teem with largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass.

Securing your own license is easy! The links below will walk you through the entire process. The proceeds of each fishing license help in the conservation of natural habitats, local programs geered towards the protection of marine life and the environment.

Before packing your bags for a weekend getaway in one of Oklahoma's top fishing spots, make it a point to browse through the fishing rules and regulations of the area you are visiting. The links below will help you understand the do's and don'ts and will also answer all your queries. Keeping a copy on hand is also advisable for you to have a hassle free vacation.

Protecting and conserving our environment should always be on the top of our list. Seasoned anglers can extend help by educating beginners on how to increase the population of marine life in the area, which areas to avoid and teach them about the catch and release policy in the area.


Are you going fishing in Oklahoma? Then you have to purchase your Oklahoma fishing license now to enjoy the thrilling pull of largemouth bass on the end of your line in one of its famous fishing sites! 

With more than 200 lakes and over one million surface acres of water, Oklahoma is the perfect place to go on a weekend fishing trip. Beyond that, Oklahoma's waters are home to more than 40 documented species of fish that you can catch. If you decide to go there to cast your line, there are a few things that you need to know, especially about the licenses that you need to fish there. 

Here's a rundown of the most important things you need to know about the fishing license requirements and fishing regulations you need to observe while enjoying its rich and bountiful water resources. 

Who is required to purchase an Oklahoma Fishing License? 

An Oklahoma resident or non-resident fishing license is required of all persons who take, attempt to take, or possess fish or other aquatic dwelling organisms by any method in Oklahoma. Moreover, some fishing sites have their own licensing requirements. Here's a summary: 

  • Persons fishing the Red River must have a valid Oklahoma fishing license unless exempt.
  • Persons fishing on waters located within the Honobia Creek or Three Rivers Wildlife Management Areas must have a valid Land Access Permit, unless exempt.
  • People residing in another state who own land in Oklahoma but do not live on that land, and are fishing on that land, must purchase a non-resident fishing license.

Please note that the state requires all anglers to carry their license or proof of exemption all the time in their person while fishing. 

Who is exempted from purchasing an Oklahoma Fishing License?

The state imposes several exemptions for both resident and non-resident anglers. The following details the criteria to determine the said exemptions: 

Residents

  • Residents under 16 years old. • Resident owners or tenants, their spouses, parents, grandparents, children and their spouses, grandchildren, and their spouses who fish in private ponds on land owned or leased by such owner or tenant. 
  • Resident disabled veterans with 60 percent or more disability. Call State Department of Veterans Affairs, (888) 655-2838 to acquire proof of exemption. 
  • Any person who fishes with pole and line, trotline or throw line in streams, natural ponds and mine pits in or forming the boundary of the county in which he is a bona fide resident, when using any bait other than commercial or artificial bait, blood, stink bait, cut fish, and shrimp. 
  • Residents having a proven disability rendering them nonambulatory and confined to wheelchairs as certified by a duly qualified physician. 
  • The following persons are exempt from the purchase of the Land Access Permit (Honobia Creek and Three Rivers WMAs): Any Oklahoma resident who on the first day of the current calendar year was younger than 18, or anyone 64 or older. All non-residents are required to purchase an $85 annual Land Access Permit (no exemptions).

Non-Residents

  • Non-residents under 14 years old. 
  • Non-residents under 16 years old who reside in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Texas or Wisconsin. 
  • Non-residents 65 and older who are residents of Texas. (Valid ID required.)

Other Exemptions

  • Any person legally blind or physically impaired who is unable to properly use fishing apparatus and one accompanying companion while the blind or physically impaired person is fishing.
  • Persons under 18 who are in the legal and physical custody of the State of Oklahoma or its agencies by court order.
  •  Persons under 18 who are in the custody of a child care facility as defined by Title 10 O.S., Section 402. 
  • A person fishing during Oklahoma's Free Fishing Days. 
  • Any patient of a state institution in Oklahoma established for the care and treatment of mental illness or alcohol or drug dependency or any person developmentally disabled residing in any group home or other institution or persons developmentally disabled when accompanied by an attendant of such institution or legal guardian or when fishing on institutional property. 
  • Job Corps trainees of this state, having a proper identification card. 
  • Any person participating in an aquatic education event or clinic sanctioned by the Wildlife Department.

Residency Requirements

In the state of Oklahoma, any person who qualifies in the following criteria can purchase a resident fishing license and can avail special privileges exclusive to residents of the state: 

  • A "resident" is any individual who has an established residence in Oklahoma for 60 consecutive days prior to submitting a license application, except for lifetime license applicants and senior citizen lifetime license applicants who must have established residency for a period of six months and intend to remain a state resident.
  • Any person holding a valid driver's license is considered a resident of the state that issued the permit. For a valid Oklahoma driver license to be used as the sole source of proof of residency, it must be at least 60 days from the date the license was issued, except for lifetime license applicants, whose license must have been issued for six months or longer.
  • Residency for children under 18 years of age is presumed to be that of the custodial parent, including a custodial parent where there is a joint custody order, and the physical custody of the child is shared by both parents, or legal guardian unless otherwise documented. 

Please note that owning land or property in Oklahoma is not in itself a proof of residency. Furthermore more, no person cannot claim multiple states of residence unless they qualify in the following exemptions: 

  •  A person who is not otherwise a resident of the state and is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States and is on active duty and permanently assigned to a military installation located in the state shall be eligible to qualify as a resident if the person presents with the license application a certificate of assignment in the state from a commanding officer or designated representative. A spouse or dependent of the person who is not otherwise a resident of the state, is living within the same household and is similarly certified by a commanding officer, shall also be eligible to qualify as a resident. 
  • The residency status of any person, except active-duty members of the U.S. Armed Forces and any dependents of the member, shall terminate if the person obtains any resident hunting, fishing, trapping license or permit or a valid driver's license issued by another state. 

Where can an Oklahoma Fishing License be purchased? 

In Oklahoma, you can purchase your fishing license online, by phone or at a license dealer including some sporting goods stores, bait shops, and convenience stores. For those who want to purchase their licenses online, you need to go to the Go Outdoors Oklahoma Online Licensing System website. If you are looking for the nearest license sales agent, you can browse through this list

Different types of fishing licenses in Oklahoma

The state of Oklahoma offers different fishing licenses based on varying factors. These factors also determine the cost of the said license. Here's a matrix to help you know which one is best suited for you: 

Resident

Resident Licenses

Fee

Validity

Annual Fishing

$25

January 1 - December 31

Annual Combination, Fishing & Hunting

$42

Fiscal Year Combination, Fishing & Hunting

$53

July 1 - June 30

2-Day Fishing

$15

Two consecutive days of choice

Youth Annual Fishing (16 & 17 years old)

$5

January 1 - December 31

Youth Annual Combination, Fishing & Hunting (16 & 17 years old)

$9

Youth Fiscal Year Combination, Fishing & Hunting (16 & 17 years old)

$19

July 1 - June 30

5-Year Fishing

$88

Five years from date of purchase

5-Year Combination Fishing & Hunting

$148

Lifetime Fishing

$225

Lifetime

Lifetime Combination Fishing & Hunting

$775

Lifetime Disabled Veteran Combination Fishing & Hunting (under 60 percent disability)

$200

Lifetime Disabled Veteran Combination Fishing & Hunting (60 percent or more disability)

$25

Lake Texoma

$12

January 1 - December 31

Paddlefish Permit

Free

Senior Citizen Fishing

$15

Lifetime

Senior Citizen Combination Fishing & Hunting

$25

Disability Fishing

$10

Five years from date of purchase

Land Access Permit (Honobia Creek & Three Rivers WMAs)

$40

January 1 - December 31

3-Day Land Access Permit (not valid for fishing or hunting) (Honobia Creek & Three Rivers WMAs)

$10

Three consecutive days of choice

Annual Wildlife Conservation Passport (permit does not provide fishing or hunting privileges)

$26

January 1 - December 31

3-Day Wildlife Conservation Passport (permit does not provide fishing or hunting privileges)

$15

Three consecutive days of choice

Fishing Guide License (Cost reduced to $20 with Coast Guard Mariner credentials)

$90

January 1 - December 31

If you are a resident, you can purchase an Annual Fishing and Annual Combination (hunting and fishing) for only $25.00 and $42.00, respectively. Furthermore, a Fiscal Year Combination license, which has a validity date of July 1 to June 30 the following year is also available for $53.00. 2-Day permits can also be bought for only $15.00, which can be used to fish in any water within the jurisdiction of the state for two consecutive days. Five-year and lifetime fishing permits can also be availed. 

Non-Residents

Non-Resident Licenses

Fees

Validity

Annual Fishing

$55

January 1 - December 31

6-Day Fishing

$35

Six consecutive days of choice

1-Day Fishing

$15

One day of choice

Lake Texoma

$12

January 1 - December 31

Land Access Permit

$85

Paddlefish Permit

Free

Annual Wildlife Conservation Passport

$26

3-Day Wildlife Conservation Passport

$15

Three consecutive days of choice

Fishing Guide License

$90

January 1 - December 31

A non-resident annual fishing license costs $55.00. However, if you want to fish in Oklahoman waters for just a few days, options to purchase a 6-day fishing license for $35.00 or a one-day fishing license for $15.00 can also be availed. Other important permits and tags are also available for non-residents to purchase. 

Statewide Daily and Size Limits

The state of Oklahoma also imposes daily and size limits to make sure that the fishing activities across the state won’t hamper its fish population. You must understand these limits to do your part in conserving the natural resources across the state. Here’s a summary: 

SPECIES

DAILY LIMIT

(for areas without special regulations)

SIZE LIMIT

(for areas without special regulations)

Largemouth and/or Smallmouth Bass

6 (combined)

14 inch minimum

Spotted Bass

None

None

Channel and/or Blue Catfish

15 (combined)

Only 1 Blue Catfish over 30 inches

Flathead CatfishFlathead Catfish

5

None

White and/or Black Crappie

37 (combined)

None

Striped Bass

5 (except Lake Texoma)

None

Striped Bass Hybrids

20

Only 5 fish over 20 inches

White Bass

None

None

Trout

See Trout regulations

 

Walleye, Sauger and/or Saugeye

6 (combined)

14 inch minimum

Paddlefish

See Paddlefish regulations

None

Alligator Gar

1

None

Please download the Oklahoma Fishing Regulation Guidebook for complete information. Note that it is important for you to understand all the governing rules and regulations in Oklahoma before you go to the waters to fish. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: At what age am I required to purchase a Fishing License in Oklahoma? 

If you are a 16-year old (and older) resident, you are then required to purchase a fishing license, while a 15-year old non-resident is already required to purchase a valid license. 

Q: What is the difference between an annual license and a fiscal year fishing license? 

The annual fishing license is issued every month and expire on December 31 of the same year, whereas, a fiscal year license is valid from July 1 through June 30 of the following year. 

Q: Are anglers still required to fill out a record of their paddlefish harvest?

Anglers who harvest paddlefish are no longer required to fill out the "Record of Harvest" section on their paddlefish permit.